telophase: (Default)
Currently annoyed with Duolingo. I'm going through the Latin course for no real reasons other than I have always vaguely wanted to be the sort of person who learns Latin, plus I thought getting a few basics down* might give me some ideas for the, er, esoteric sciences (*coughmagiccough*) in Deadfall/Deadwater.

*Anyone who wants to tell me that you can't get fluent with Duolingo, I do already know that.
cut for ranting )

SEO spam

Jun. 22nd, 2021 09:46 am
telophase: (Default)
Unrelated to my previous post!

As the proud owner of https://www.magatsu.net I get a lot of spam from shady SEO companies who want me to engage their services so I can rank higher on Google. My site is a giant animated 404 with a link to my random generators site and my email address. I do not know what keywords they would suggest I attempt to rank for, because I notice that they cunningly never put that bit of info into their sales pitch. Presumably so they can get me ranked high for some random long-tail keyword like "elegant psychic fruitbat" or what not.*

cut for most of the email and rambling about what it means )

In conclusion: if I were a YouTuber, a podcaster, or a journalist I would be immensely tempted to hire one of these organizations to see exactly what they'd do and how they'd do it, and what keywords they'd rank me for. If you are or know of any of those and are willing to experiment, hmu.



* I just checked. As of the date of this post there are no pages that result from a search for "elegant psychic fruitbat" in quotes. I expect within a couple of weeks Google will have spidered my DW again and I might even rank as #1! Without having to pay a shady SEO firm to do so!
telophase: (Default)
Don't worry, your markers are fine. It's salt. They're not moldy, just cheap. The markers are not toxic--as much as alcohol markers can be--and the markers are not dangerous. Wipe off the crud and go to town.

I'll explain, but I want artists searching for marker problems to find this post and learn that they won't sicken or die. To that aim, I shall attempt SEO keywords and writing techniques,[*] to hopefully rank high in search results. (This is why recipe pages often have miles of autobiography before the actual recipe. It ranks them higher.) I will probably fail and this post will just contain weirdly-written sentences about markers, mold and salt, but...I'm trying.

Skip to the answer. (Another SEO tactic! Really!)

Gross-looking markers!


These markers sat in a pencil cup on my desk at work for over a year while I've been working at home. I popped the cap off of one to see if it had dried out. I saw bumps all over the nib that looked like mold or fungus. At first, the growths creeped me out. But then, I realized these were alcohol markers. The weird growths were saturated with ink, so therefore full of alcohol.

Yellow brush marker nib with yellow growths on it.Yellow marker chisel tip nib with a few weird bumps that look like mold.Green marker brush nib covered in lumps that look like moss.

So the markers aren't moldy?


Alcohol kills bacteria, mold spores, fungus spores and pretty much every organic thing that touches it. Which is why it stings when you sanitize your hands. Because the alcohol finds all those paper cuts you'd forgotten about, and starts killing your cells.

Therefore these fuzzy bumps were not mold, fungus, or any other organic growth. Unless something weird happened, and the alcohol evaporated leaving behind only pigments (or dyes or whatever the ink was made of), and the stuff grew afterwards. But that was not the case. Because the markers worked, which means the alcohol was still present. And the growths were colored, so they were saturated in alcohol ink.

Skip this bit if you don't want to be ranted at about "toxic"


Allow me to dissemble a bit on toxicity. Mold grosses you out unless you're a moldologist or something. And some species of mold can be toxic or unhealthy. Also, some fungus can be CREEPY AS ALL GET-OUT CORDYCEPS I AM LOOKING AT YOU (from a very long distance away). But us humans associate the circumstances--rot, decay, dead things, damp, dark hidden areas--with the mold or fungus itself. Which is just living its best life breaking organic matter down. unless it's controlling the behavior of ants aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

And the three-ring circus surrounding black mold, involving only one species within the "black mold" umbrella, has likely overstated the danger involved to people without pre-existing respiratory conditions or allergies, made worse by sketchy "labs" doing "tests" in order to scare you into buying extremely expensive mold-reduction treatments. So people now see something that looks like mold and freak out because they think it's toxic or dangerous.

Word to the wise: if someone who isn't a scientist uses "toxic," you'll want to double-check that they know what they're talking about. Also another word to the wise: random drive-by comments haranguing me about how terrible black mold really is will be deleted. Allergies and asthma can be deadly, so removing it is good. But is it the end of Western civilization as we know it? No. Find a reputable company that isn't pushing expensive tests and get it taken care of, but don't freak out. I am not a lawyer moldologist, so this is neither medical nor legal advice. But I am a librarian, so this is research advice: slow down and use your critical thinking skills. Assess the source.

MARKERS? This post is supposed to be about MARKERS. Not random venting about what people think is "research."


ANYWAY. MARKERS. So these growths are not toxic, well, ok, you really don't want to lick or drink marker ink because the alcohol is toxic, but the growths are far less dangerous to you than the alcohol is. The pigments probably won't do you any good, either. Don't eat your markers, ok?

GET TO THE POINT. WTF IS GROWING ON MY MARKERS?


The fuzzy bumps on your marker nib are caused by desalinization. Or desalination if you prefer that word variant. Salts leach out of the ink and crystallize on the exterior of the nib.

The salts mostly wipe off--my chisel-tip nibs recovered fine, although the brush nibs are rather the worse for wear. I found another post where an artist suggests adding alcohol to the nibs to dissolve the salt and ink back into the marker. I don't have alcohol here, so I can't test that. But it might be better for your nibs than wiping if you're using the markers for art.

Anyway, the real reason your markers have fuzzy gross bumps on them is cheap ink, cheap nibs. You will find no judgement here! I have nothing but cheap markers now! I got rid of my Copics because I wasn't using them. (They went to [personal profile] yhlee, not the trash, if you were worrying.)

Also, at least one company changed their ink formula and nib construction to stop the desalinization, so do feel free to complain. You might get free replacement markers! Maybe! I won't complain because I use the markers as highlighters, so salty fuzzy bumps I can wipe off aren't a big deal.

I shall cap this post off by using another SEO tactic: embedding a video. (I think people tend to stay on pages longer if they watch the video, which makes the page rank a bit higher.) This is the video I found that explained that marker ink desalinizes. There is some OMG IS THIS TOXIC??? DRAMA at the beginning. But I have linked it starting at the section of the video where the artist talks about the letter she received from the company explaining the weird growths as desalinization.



That's it! Enjoy your markers in peace! Don't forget to like and subscribe and ring the little bell in order to be noti-------asdfkn dgff;vndfvnighfio asgh;AI OSKNFV'




* SEO-friendly (for now): short-ish sentences, attempt not to use what the computer thinks is passive voice (WHICH IS NOT PASSIVE VOICE, AHEM), seed a bunch of keywords in there, use transitional words (because, therefore, etc.) to make it seem like the sentences are connected in a cause-effect relationship, short sections with section headings. Which results in weird-sounding sentences and sweeping generalizations. I do end up failing a lot at SEO, because I revert to using GINORMOUS WORDS and INTERNET LINGO and WANDER OFF THE TOPIC. And probably just mentioning it here will make the algorithm push this farther down the ranks. XD Anyway, Google is trying to create an algorithm that finds real information written by real people that accurately answer real questions that real people are looking for, but you know, it's next to impossible for a machine to do that. THIS IS WHY YOU NEED LIBRARIANS, PEOPLE. In conclusion: ALL HAIL THE ALGORITHM. I, FOR ONE, WELCOME OUR ALGORITHMIC OVERLORDS

*sigh*

Mar. 25th, 2010 02:37 pm
telophase: (Jiraiya don't play that shit)
I really hate misleading articles and studies. Witness: this BBC news article on a study of women which suggests that you need to exercise at least an hour a day to stay slim.

It followed 35,000 women over 13 years, and only the women who exercised an average of an hour a day or more did not gain weight over that thirteen years.

You know how much the average weight gain over that thirteen years was? "The average age of the women was 54, and the average weight gain was 2.6 kg over the 13 year period."

FIVE POUNDS. FIVE FREAKIN' POUNDS.

OH NOEZ! I GAINED FIVE POUNDS IN THIRTEEN YEARS! I'M A FAT SLOB GOING TO DIE OF A HEART ATTACK ANY DAY NOW

I think a gain of five pounds in thirteen years is (a) not enough to call you "not slim" unless you happen to be, say, a cat, and (b) completely negligible when it comes to health effects. Not to mention that as you age, those who are slightly clinically overweight appear to have significantly lower mortality rates than those who are "normal" weight, so you probably want those five pounds if you were slim to start with.

I will be right up there saying that as we evolved in a high-exercise environment, getting lots of exercise is a good idea, but the health significance of that hour a day has nothing to do with the five pounds not gained and a lot more to do with how exercise conditions your muscles, bones, hormones, etc.

ETA: Gah, reading the article again made me even angrier. You see, the weight-gain preventative effect was only present in those of "normal" weight to begin with, and absent in those who were already overweight at the beginning of the study. So instead of saying that perhaps exercise doesn't have anywhere near as much to do with weight loss as previously thought, and that maybe it has a lot more to do with what we eat, they said instead that overweight people might have to exercise more, up to 90 minutes a day, to prevent weight gain of that eeeeevil five pounds.

I guess me losing 50 pounds in 2007 when exercising 20 minutes a day didn't really happen, huh? I made a vow that I wouldn't exercise more than an hour a day unless I was training for something specific, because for me, that felt too much like obsessive behavior. I'm trying to get into the exercise habit again because of the gains in health, the prevention of osteoporosis, the ability to stay active in my later years, etc.
telophase: (Default)
[livejournal.com profile] octopedingenue took me up on my offer to rant about the character of Sabretooth and how what Marvel did with him pushed me over the edge.

First off, I'm going to mention that it's been years, on the order of fifteen or so, practically decades since I read the books I'm talking about, so I'm hazy on the details, and I'll probably get some wrong or out of order. That's OK. We can all live with that. It's the larger narrative that's important, for the most part.

And it's really less of a rant than a history, with a couple of ranty bits in it. But one of them's really ranty.

Onward! )
telophase: (cat - bitch please)
Just ran across a study (re-analyzing old data from previous studies that came to opposite conclusions) positing a link between watching voer 2 hours of television a day as a young child and the incidence of ADHD.

Cut for abstract )

My big issue is not with the news that there may be a link, it's with the suggestion, "These results support the hypothesis that childhood television viewing may contribute to the development of attention problems and suggest that the effects may be long-lasting." Isn't it just as likely that kids with short attention spans prefer watching television because it fits better with their thought patterns? Correlation does not mean causation!

I bring this up because I've got anecdotal evidence that it doesn't have a damn thing to do with watching television: from the ages of 4 to 6 I was in the Serengeti National Park with no access to television whatsoever, and watched way less than 2 hours a day for the next few years because it took me that long to understand the concept of TV schedules. I'd just turn the TV on and hope that whatever I wanted to watch was on. (I don't think I started watching TV regularly until I was 9 or so, and then at the age of 15 we moved to the country and only got two channels, so I stopped watching it and didn't pick it up on a serious basis until I graduated college.)

Pfui.

I haven't read the full article yet, because it's not accessible online by my library at this point. They may address this point in the article, but it's certainly not in the abstract. (The other big problem is that the data is self-reported, not verified independently, so we can't really be sure of its accuracy. It's entirely possible that parents of children with attention problems may over-report TV viewing because they think it's part of the problem, or vice versa.)

KHII

Jan. 12th, 2007 11:08 pm
telophase: (gojyo screw you // yomigaere)
OK, farther into KHII right now. Still too much plot. Have just gotten to the Pirates of the Caribbean section and the "realistic" people are FREAKING ME THE FUCK OUT.

I also have weird qualms about the rushing around and opening chests (well, except for this pirate scenario when stealing is the in thing to do) especially if the owner is with me. I mean - in the Beast's castle, the Beast joins the party and wants to go rescue Belle rightwaythisveryminutenow, and I have to say: Hold on a second, dude, let me go LOOT your CASTLE RIGHT IN FRONT OF YOU while your girlfriend is KIDNAPPED BY HEARTLESS. There's just something not right about that.
cut for bitching about women, and KHII spoilery stuff that's only spoilery if you haven't seen the Disney movies, because they attempt to follow the damn plot of every damn movie referenced in the game, and a couple of KHI spoilers )

But I kind of liked the section where they got thrown into the past and ended up looking like early Disney B&W characters. XD

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags