telophase: (Default)
telophase ([personal profile] telophase) wrote2010-11-04 08:33 pm

(no subject)

Computer doing funny stuff* more and more. Resident computer expert and I concur: need to reinstall OS. Seriously considering making the jump to Win7**. Either way, may be offline this weekend while doing Serious Computery Stuff.

Am making full backup of contents of My Documents right now.***

ETA: I truly appreciate all the suggestions on my breakfast posts! I will try to answer them, but if I fail, it's partly because of All This and partly just because I suck at answering all comments. :)




* It's doing that thing more often where, when it boots into Windows, the logo comes up very faint and just sticks. Used to be, I'd just leave it alone and it would eventually fix itself and continue the boot, but not any more. I have to turn it off manually. We're not sure what's happening, but at any rate the OS has never been reinstalled, so now's as good a time as any.

** It's on XP right now. I was able to get it right before they stopped offering it and forced you to get VIsta.

*** Resident Computer Expert and Professional Paranoid has us set up with a nice backup system for the Most Important Files that get backed up in two different places, although he is not yet Professionally Paranoid Enough to have offsite storage for more than what goes in his Dropbox. Getting a safety deposit box is on the List of Things to Do, for precisely this reason.

[identity profile] nekonexus.livejournal.com 2010-11-05 02:19 am (UTC)(link)
I actually (surprisingly) like Win7. It has some quirks, and the way they rearranged some bits takes some getting used to, but at the same time, a lot of the shortcut type functions are so much better. Like not having to right-click, point to New, and click Folder when you want to make a new folder. There's a button for that, in the toolbar thingy of the Windows Explorer view.

Plus it's been stable for me so far, after fixing a graphics card and standby mode conflict. I haven't actually bluescreened it ... ever, I don't think, since I got my Win7 disks in January.

YMMV, of course, depending on hardware (I'm on an Acer).

[identity profile] telophase.livejournal.com 2010-11-05 02:21 am (UTC)(link)
I'm on a frankenstein the Resident Computer Expert put together for me helped me assemble, so I haven't the slightest idea what hardware I've got. :D

We're going to WIn7 at work, and I'm the last one to be upgrades because we have to purchase the Adobe CS5 suite, since I use parts of it in my work and I'm currently on CS2, which won't work on Win7.

[identity profile] gaudior.livejournal.com 2010-11-05 01:39 pm (UTC)(link)
Feh and sympathy, hope the computing works out!

[identity profile] telophase.livejournal.com 2010-11-05 02:11 pm (UTC)(link)
Thanks! My backup is completely made, so everything's set to go.