Entry tags:
So...
...can anyone who has a negative opinion of the new LJ profile page tell me why you don't like it? More than just "it's ugly" - why is it ugly? (Those of you who are tired of the furore can scroll on by.)
I accidentally ended up being one of the beta testers for the new profile. A few weeks ago I was changing something-or-other in my profile, noticed a checkbox that said "Beta-test the new profile page?" thought "Huh. I wonder what they're doing with it?" and checked the box. After that, alll profile pages appeared the new way to me, so I got used to it and forgot that most people didn't see it that way until my f-list erupted in OMGWTFLJ?! :)
Anyway, my opinion is: hey, the stats I'm interested in are at the top instead of at the bottom hidden behind a cut-tag and I like left-justified because I am BORING.
I accidentally ended up being one of the beta testers for the new profile. A few weeks ago I was changing something-or-other in my profile, noticed a checkbox that said "Beta-test the new profile page?" thought "Huh. I wonder what they're doing with it?" and checked the box. After that, alll profile pages appeared the new way to me, so I got used to it and forgot that most people didn't see it that way until my f-list erupted in OMGWTFLJ?! :)
Anyway, my opinion is: hey, the stats I'm interested in are at the top instead of at the bottom hidden behind a cut-tag and I like left-justified because I am BORING.

no subject
no subject
no subject
And WHY THE HELL DO I HAVE TO CONFIRM I AM A HUMAN?!?! I'm fucking LOGGED IN!
no subject
Sorry, that was me! :) I set the comments on my LJ to require a CAPTCHA from non-f-listers because I was hit incredibly hard by Russian spambot LJs, and after getting in an argument with one* I got fed up and set that.
* Well, it was really good at picking out keywords in my comments and pasting text in that had flamebait opinions. I did figure it out after a couple of exchanges, though! Eventually!
no subject
(Kidding. I was a little startled, but I like being able to show/hide stuff at will.)
no subject
no subject
I'm finding insufficient margins on the new layout, too. I find myself feeling overwhelmed by it and having trouble finding the boundaries between different pieces of the profile.
I think there's also a bit of dissatisfaction for me in the type size. It's minute. Of course, I don't think anything should be smaller than 12 point Times New Roman. Ever.
no subject
no subject
no subject
Yes, I switched when they offered the beta and also forgot about it! I did have some trouble initially finding some things I wanted (like, the first time I needed to text a certain someone ...), but now I'm used to it. (But then, tiny type is not usually a problem for me, and I'm used to dark grey on white because it's what our agency sites use ... .)
no subject
no subject
no subject
It reminds me of facebook, in a way. That's not a complimentary comparison.
no subject
Font too small, yes.
Also, if sections are collapsible, why are they all expanded by default, making the page scroll hugely long?
Interests and friends lists have become huge wall-o-text chunks that are unreadable (not that they were great before).
And why, for the love of whatever, are the communities I'm a member of hidden without me CHOOSING it to be that way? >.> I can see people having privacy issues with that, but I've often found interesting comms by way of seeing what comms friends are members of.
I really don't care about the stats and rarely checked them, so to me, they waste and widen the space at the top.
no subject
no subject
Also, the type is too small.
no subject
no subject
Interests [Edit] [Remove Some]
Interests (121):
Subheaders should not repeat the header exactly, particularly not when there's only one. They do the same stupid thing in "Friends," which at very least should be "Friends" and "Friended:" because of the "Friend of:" second subsection.
I wish they'd hire a designer. The old one was not a better design, but it didn't look like anyone had tried to design it, so simply came across as naive, which means it didn't trigger any design analysis on my part. This one does communicate "attempted design," and so does, and then doesn't do very well, so bothers me. The previous one also had the advantage of not being so text-dense.
no subject
no subject
However, I don't think I like it as much as the old style because it seems more cluttered and blocky than the old one. Though there's the same amount of information as there used to be it now seems to be more compact and dense and therefore slightly overwhelming on first viewing.
Editted: Punctuation, the bane of my existence!
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
But honestly, I don't care that much. I'm happy enough ignoring the profile page most of the time.
no subject
My main problem is the (as others have said) the heavy horizontal weight: not only does all block of text span the entire page width but it is underlined by the thin horizontal dividers. The dividers in combination with the simple, practical text makes it look like a base HTML folder category for chrisssake. It also makes the big blocks of texts look even bigger and more confusing (especially so the links for whatever reason). I can imagine folks with a wide-screen monitor going nuts.
However, as said, it has practical advantages and I reckon I'll learn to live with it. Still, an INFORMATION page should be simple but not as simple so that it is confusing. It would be preferable if a first-time visitor to LJ could understand wtf it is about without getting lost. But that might be wishful thinking.
Anyway... I think it's the "basic Info" category that makes me frown the most. I'd prefer it merged with the top information (perhaps as a sub-topic if they insist) instead as a stand-alone divider between the top statistics and the Bio, which somehow just makes both the important 'Basic info' and the Bio get lost.
no subject
Also: too horizontal. Also also: the font for several of the important things is too small.
no subject
no subject
no subject
EDIT---
I also agree with others that it is too horizontal/text boxy(?).
no subject
I don't like that the buttons at the top now have text next to them, because I think any idiot can figure out what they're for without being explicitly told 'this one is for posting an entry, this one is for tracking...'. I think it kind of dumbs the whole thing down a little.
I absolutely loathe the gray text and arrows. It looks so mechanical. I liked black text much better. I don't like the hide/show features; I liked it better when things like bio, friends, personal information, etc were shown, because really, what's the point in needing to hide that stuff anyway? I hate, hate, hate the line breaks. It makes the whole thing look so much less cohesive.
I dislike the way the userpics and journal name and subtitle are jammed over to the left. I think they should be the focus of the page. (Incidentally, I liked the center-justified thing they had going on before much better.)
The feeds thing on the bottom is dumb; if you're not watching any feeds, it just says 'feeds (0)'. They should remove it if the person doesn't have any feeds listed. As for communities, the 'watching' and 'posting access' really doesn't need to be shown to anybody except the user themselves. Showing what communities they're a member of is sufficient, I think.
Overall, I think the new changes really depersonalize the profiles, and I hate that. It makes each profile into a number, rather than a person's carefully-created profile for their journal.
So yeah, in case you couldn't tell from the above, I really hate the new profiles. XD I understand that YMMV, though, and I'm not hating on people who like the changes, because everyone has different needs and preferences, and that's cool! This is just what I don't like about the changes.
ETA: Forgot to add some of the most obvious things! New profile is way too horizontal, has way too much whitespace, and the text size is way too small. Also, I liked the post to journal/track/etc being boxed and highlighted to make them jump out. I just think the new page has really bad visual flow; the eye doesn't skim neatly over the information, it's forced to jump around erratically trying to find the important stuff amid all the junk and whitespace. At least, mine is!
no subject
no subject
more specifically, lots of people have already commented with my reasons: i agree with
i mean, you used to do manga-flow-analysis. this just doesn't flow well.
i think people are being too shouty-shouty at the lj-design posts and stuff, but i also think that the lj-staff should have... known better, in a way? because people are shouty-shouty about all the design changes. (including me.)
no subject
no subject
i also don't like having all those stats at the top, i rather my bio or at least my name and website only at the time. the font for the journal title/subtitle is far too small and seemingly meaningless now.
no subject
Certainly, for me, it's not the sudden change. It's the lack of professionalism in the design (seriously, give me 10 minutes and I can mock up an HTML equivalent of it; 'hundreds of hours in design' just makes me go "oh, stop LYING, LJ...") mixed with the eye-hurtiness of what they finally decided on (c'mon, break it up with some blue stripes as per usual or SOMETHING, guys)... yes.
no subject
no subject
My big objection is that it doesn't work with screen readers (at least according to a comment in
no subject
You're interested in finding out when someone else last updated, how many comments they've received, how many comments they've posted, how many memories and tags they have, their user ID number, the date the lj was created, and the number of virtual gifts given? Statistics are fascinating, I know, but that strikes me as a little extreme.
My objection is that all these pointless numbers are up at the top before I can get to the info *I* really want about a user, which is usually where they are (because off-hand references to 'here' make no sense without) and what their range of interests are (ie congruent with my own or really far away.)
no subject
Checking the stats is one way to tell at a glance if the person who's just friended me is a spambot, or in the case of someone with very few posts showing, whether they're someone f-locked down tight who has me on a casual reading list or a new LJ*. I hit the profile link in the LJ notification, check the stats, then if they look promising, hit the front page and skim through the posts to get an idea of who the person is and what they're interested in. And I judge the ratio of f-locked to open: if I can actually see a good deal of their f-locked posts, I'm a lot more likely to seriously consider friending them back than someone who's obviously got me on a casual reading list. It's a way to manage my LJ friendslist.
* I have yet to have any serious problems with stalkers, etc., but a person who quit work at my job location shortly before I was hired, whose job was taken, reworked, given more money, and then I was hired for it, friended me on Facebook although we have never met nor exchanged email nor had any other contact, and he quit this job five years ago. I am VERY CAREFUL about who I let into the f-lock filters for this and other reasons, and a well-established LJ with lots of comments is much less likely to be this guy than a relatively new one.
no subject
You seem to have struck a gold mine of opinion on this one (not that it's anything new, given the breadth and diversity of your friends list). :D
I'm still absorbing the change, as I don't look at profile pages often... I'll get back to you.
no subject
It says, in part:
click above for more info....