(no subject)
Hm. This past couple of weeks, I've run into several different occurrences of the same thing, both on LJ and on other journal systems. Not naming names, not from a desire to anonymize a thing, but because this is so bloody common as to be worthy of a general observation, and because the disagreement that led to this thought has been all cleared up.
Anyway, here's the basic order of events:
1) Someone posts something into a journal.
2) People comment on it, either in the comments area or in their own journals.
3) Original poster claims that nobody has the right to air their opinions on the original poster's thoughts because it's a journal.
Er, well, it's a journal, technically, but it's a publicly available post that isn't friends-locked or made private, and the comments aren't screened, friends-locked, or disabled. So why on earth is anyone publicly posting their thoughts and then getting angry when the public has -- the horror! -- an opinion? Most journal sites offer plenty of ways to lock posts down with varying degrees of security: for heaven's sake, utilize them if you consider your thoughts private! Not to do so is to air your thoughts in a public forum -- and that is what LiveJournal, Blogger, Movable Type, Diaryland, Xanga, Journalfen, DeadJournal and the like are. To consider them private unless you've put security measures into effect is to be deluding yourself.
Please note: this is a publicly available post with no restrictions or screening upon comments. Therefore, it is open for and inviting of such. Any thoughts, either of you who read my journal?
P.S. As for AggieCon: not bad, guys, although there are still some questions and observations I have on its running and how it was handled. But as I said in
firnymph's journal, it's in the parental-mode of looking at a test that was graded a 94 and saying "OK, it's an A, but what happened to the other six points?" I had a good time, and I saw others having a good time.
P.P.S. Did the FACT/SA Worldcon people get thanked publicly in any way for their contribution to the con?
Anyway, here's the basic order of events:
1) Someone posts something into a journal.
2) People comment on it, either in the comments area or in their own journals.
3) Original poster claims that nobody has the right to air their opinions on the original poster's thoughts because it's a journal.
Er, well, it's a journal, technically, but it's a publicly available post that isn't friends-locked or made private, and the comments aren't screened, friends-locked, or disabled. So why on earth is anyone publicly posting their thoughts and then getting angry when the public has -- the horror! -- an opinion? Most journal sites offer plenty of ways to lock posts down with varying degrees of security: for heaven's sake, utilize them if you consider your thoughts private! Not to do so is to air your thoughts in a public forum -- and that is what LiveJournal, Blogger, Movable Type, Diaryland, Xanga, Journalfen, DeadJournal and the like are. To consider them private unless you've put security measures into effect is to be deluding yourself.
Please note: this is a publicly available post with no restrictions or screening upon comments. Therefore, it is open for and inviting of such. Any thoughts, either of you who read my journal?
P.S. As for AggieCon: not bad, guys, although there are still some questions and observations I have on its running and how it was handled. But as I said in
P.P.S. Did the FACT/SA Worldcon people get thanked publicly in any way for their contribution to the con?

no subject
Yeah, if you don't want comments, don't allow them. If you don't want comments that disagree with you, move to China.
no subject
I've currently got 2 people that I haven't a clue who they are who've friended me. I'm assuming they're Can't Sleep readers who came over from the Can't Sleep temp page, but heck, I don't care. More power to 'em! (I did figure out who the 3rd was, who came through
I am happy that Opportunity and the Cassini probe friended me back. :D Yes, I am easily amused.
no subject
I can't believe I missed Aggiecon again. I have to get back there and see if anyone I know shows up. Mind if I ask you about a few people who might have made it, or would you rather I just hush and get my butt to CS next year. :)
no subject
no subject
I was the roommate of Bob Carr (a.k.a. Skoob) and Jamye Morris (whose D-name I don't recall). I'd also love to get in touch with Jen (a.k.a. Nighthawk a.k.a. Daysparrow), too. There were plenty of others I have ... interesting memories of, but those are the three I knew best. :)
Any of these folks ringing any bells?
no subject
no subject
no subject
Maybe I'm not controversial enough...
Your mother was a hamster and your father smelt of elderberries!!!
Better? Anyone? Anyone...? heh
no subject
*Demands to be removed from your friends list. Several times.*
*Posts in 57824 LJ communities about how awful you are.*
*Complains in public post about you.*
*Gets offended at replies and deletes all comments not agreeing with self.*
Do I have it about right? :) I have much the same reply thing going on, too, judging by the general lack of comments on my posts. But I tend to post infrequent, somewhat non-interesting posts, so I'm not too surprised by that. I think this one is the closest to controversy I've come.