telophase: (Default)
telophase ([personal profile] telophase) wrote2009-04-25 11:04 am
Entry tags:

Potato Salad

Haven't made anything with the potatoes from yesterday yet, just realized that I thought I'd sted this recipe before but couldn't find it. Got it from my grandmother, who presumably got it from the back of a Dijonnaise bottle, hence the brand names. :D

1/4 c Dijonnaise
1 c. Hellman's
2 Tb vinegar (note: apple cider vinegar is YUM)
2 Tb chopped dill or parsely
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp pepper
2lbs russet potatoes, cubed
celery (no idea how much; I always leave it out)
1/2 c. sliced green onion


Combine all non-potato things, let sit while cooking potatoes. Boil potatoes until fork-tender. Drain, while hot combine with the sauce. The longer you let the sauce sit and combine, the better it will taste. Eat warm or cold.

----------

Also, bought asparagus and tomatoes and onions at the farmers' market. It was small this weekend, will get bigger over the next few weeks as more foods ripen. XD

But

[identity profile] mustangsally78.livejournal.com 2009-04-25 04:12 pm (UTC)(link)
Did you give Nefer and Sora a chance to catch a potato?

Hon, just smash 'em with some butter. Sometimes simple is better.

Re: But

[identity profile] telophase.livejournal.com 2009-04-25 04:17 pm (UTC)(link)
But .. but ... but ... I like potato salad! (Not to mention the reason I'm not mashing or baking them is the last 3432545234234 times I've had potatoes, they've been mashed or baked. SOmetimes variety is good.)

[identity profile] wyrdness.livejournal.com 2009-04-25 08:34 pm (UTC)(link)
Your icon temporarily confused me. I read "fandom" then "potato salad" and thought that it was some sort of manga revolving around said potato salad. It only made sense when I wondered why you weren't using your "wtf" icon and actually paid attention to the rest of the post. XD